Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services :: Basic Constable Training

Ontario Police College

Patrol & Basic Constable Training


Download the complete 2014 Calendar (PDF, 5.6 MB)


Patrol Training


Chris Abbott - Chief Instructor, Specialized Senior Training - 519 773 4226 - chris.d.abbott@ontario.ca

Staff Members

Mike Souliere - Applied Police Learning, Team Leader - 519 773 4463 - mike.souliere@ontario.ca
Mike Gobeil - 519 773 4268 - mike.gobeil@ontario.ca
Dale Jenkins - 519 773 4463 - dale.jenkins@ontario.ca
Jeff Rutherford - 519 773 4271 - jeff.rutherford@ontario.ca

Dave McCormack - Traffic Training - 519 773 4455 - david.mccormack@ontario.ca


Kim Duncan-LeCoure - Chief Instructor, Practical Skills Training - 519 773 4559 - kim.duncan-Lecoure@ontario.ca

Staff Members

Paul Bonner - Defensive Tactics Team Leader - 519 773 4419 - paul.bonner@ontario.ca
Mike Girard - 519 773 4294 - mike.girard@ontario.ca


Erin Knights - Firearms Team Leader - 519 773 4280 - erin.knights@ontario.ca

Staff Members

Deb McDonald - 519 773 4274 - deb.mcdonald@ontario.ca
Jim O’Sullivan - 519 773 4240 - jim.o’sullivan@ontario.ca


John Weiler - Use of Force & Advanced Firearms - 519 773 4227 - john.weiler@ontario.ca


John Zeyen - Officer Safety Team Leader - 519 773 4239 - john.zeyen@ontario.ca

Staff Members

Lino Couto - 519 773 4464 - lino.couto@ontario.ca
Chris Lawrence - 519 773 4465 - chris.lawrence@ontario.ca


Ken Lester - Police Vehicle Operations Team Leader - 519 773 4416 - ken.lester@ontario.ca

Staff Members

Briane Fleming - 519 773 4510 - briane.fleming@ontario.ca
Jerry Kwiatkowski - 519 773 4508 - jerry.kwiatkowski@ontario.ca
Stu Malcolm - 519 773 4241 – stuart.malcolm@ontario.ca


Lori Neufeld - Physical Training and Wellness Education - 519 773 4251 - lori.neufeld@ontario.ca

Staff Member

Barb Kelly - 519 773 4250 - barb.kelly@ontario.ca


Basic Constable Training


This program is designed to provide candidates with a sound knowledge of the laws and procedures that front-line officers are required to apply in the performance of their duties. Particular emphasis is placed on the core functions of police services as found in section 4(2) of the Ontario Police Services Act (PSA);

  • Crime Prevention
  • Law Enforcement
  • Assistance to victims of crime
  • Public order maintenance
  • Emergency response

Essential knowledge and skills are developed through simulation exercises, classroom discussion, and case studies.

Topics

  • Biker enforcement
  • Community policing
  • Counter terrorism
  • CPIC
  • Critical incident stress management
  • Death notification
  • Defensive tactics
  • Domestic violence
  • Drill
  • Diversity & profession practice
  • Elder abuse
  • EMO – IMS100
  • Ethics
  • Evidence
  • Federal statutes
  • Infectious disease
  • Leadership
  • Provincial statutes
  • Race relations
  • Special Investigations Unit
  • Taser
  • Traffic
  • Use of force
  • Victims

Applied Police Learning

Students must complete a series of cumulative written tests and final examinations. A mark of 75% per subject is required. In order to rewrite, students cannot fail more than two academic subjects. Students are allowed one opportunity to rewrite each of the two failed subjects within six months at the request of their police service.

Pre-Requisites

Students must be a member of a police force as defined in s. 2 of the PSA; a police cadet as defined in section 51 of the PSA; or a First Nations Constable appointed under s. 54(1) of the PSA.

The student must possess a valid “G” class license. The Director may allocate positions to other agencies or ministries, where resources permit, and on terms acceptable to the Director.

Note: s.44 (4) of the PSA sets out exemptions to requirements for completion of the BCT program.

Practical Training

Students must meet standard in a series of tests that may include judgment and proficiency. Students not successfully completing any of the following subject areas, must be re-examined/tested at the request of their police service within 6 months, unless special consideration is obtained from the Director:

  • Defensive Tactics;
  • Firearms;
  • Officer Safety / Tactical Communication;
  • Police Vehicle Operations;
  • Police Physical Fitness.

Certification

Diploma upon successful completion.

Miscellaneous Notes

All components of the basic constable course are essential for the initial development of a police officer. Therefore, after 10 training days of non-participation, the training continuum is jeopardized to the extent that the College may return the student to the respective police service.

Pre-course material contains a list of dress, textbook and equipment requirements, personal items and a general information sheet for each candidate.

Dress

Basic constable students are required to attend the college with a full uniform issue suitable for wearing in the classroom, indoor and outdoor range, police vehicle operations, and on parade.

Fees/Duration

$7,500 / 60 training days

Course Dates

May 1 – Jul 25, 2013
Sep 4 – Nov 28, 2013

Dates for candidates to rewrite exams:

Apr 18 and Apr 25, 2013
Aug 8 and Aug 15, 2013
Dec 12 and Dec 19, 2013